Dallas Mavericks

San Antonio Spurs Are Championship Contenders in 09-10

The San Antonio Spurs have been the model franchise for the last decade – since 99 'the Spurs have won 4 NBA Championships. The Spurs in 08'-09 'finished with a record of 54-28 winning the Southwest Division. The Spurs were 23rd in scoring and 2nd in scoring defense – Spurs have been a very good defensive for many years now. The Spurs lost to the Dallas Mavericks in the first round of the playoffs.

Manu Ginobili only played in 44 games during the season and was a non-factor. Tim Duncan had a typical Time Duncan season averaging 19 points per game and 10 rebounds. Tony Parker is still one of the best point guards in the NBA – Parker averaged 16 points per game and 6 assists. In 08'-09 'Parker had his highest scoring average of his career 22 points per game.

The problem with the Spurs the last season was their age – everyone team is getting older faster because of the regular season games combined with the playoffs – its time for the Spurs to get some youth. The Spurs did get somewhat younger with the acquisition Richard Jefferson. Jefferson is a solid player who can do a little bit of everything on the court and will contribute a great amount to the Spurs team this season. Roger Mason Jr. emerged as a talent with the Spurs averaging 12 points per game. This may come to a surprise to most people give Mason was entering his 5th season.

DeJuan Blair was the Spurs major pick up from the collage draft. Blair was an excellent player at Pitt and should see some good minutes his rookie year. The Spurs will have to start incorporating their younger players more often. The Spurs should not have a problem making the playoffs but the Spurs need fresher Duncan, Ginobili, Parker and Jefferson at the end of the regular season.

Recommended for you

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply