Cleveland Cavaliers

San Antonio Spurs’ Four NBA Championships

The San Antonio Spurs have won 4 NBA championships throughout their history. All of those championships came under the leadership of coach Gregg Popovich and superstar forward Tim Duncan. Here are brief histories of the Spurs’ 4 NBA championship titles:

1. 1998-99 Season. The San Antonio Spurs’ first ever NBA championship came in the lockout-shortened 1999 season. The Spurs had the home court advantage throughout the playoffs and ended up beating the New York Knicks 4-1 in the Finals. The Spurs were led by Tim Duncan and David Robinson while the Knicks were led by Larry Houston and Latrell Sprewell. Duncan won his first NBA Finals MVP Award after a thoroughly dominant performance in the Finals.

2. 2002-03 Season. The Spurs won their second championship in 2003, ending the Los Angeles Lakers’ three years domination of the NBA. The Spurs defeated a New Jersey Nets team led by superstar point guard Jason Kidd 4-2 in the Finals. This 2003 Spurs team was once again led by Tim Duncan and David Robinson.

3. 2004-05 Season. The Spurs’ third title came in the 2004-05 season. David Robinson had already retired, so Tony Parker and Manu Ginobili assumed the role as Tim Duncan’s main sidekicks in this 2005 team. The Spurs faced the defending champions Detroit Pistons in the Finals and went on to win the series 4-3. Duncan cemented his reputation as one of the greatest players in NBA history by winning his third NBA Finals MVP Award.

4. 2006-07 Season. The Spurs won their fourth NBA title in 2007. Led once again by the trio of Duncan, Parker, and Ginobili, the San Antonio Spurs swept the LeBron James-led Cleveland Cavaliers in the Finals. Toni Parker was chosen as the Finals MVP after his great effort in the 2007 NBA Finals.

Recommended for you

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Leave a Reply