CLEVELAND, Ohio — Immediately after the Cleveland Cavaliers’ two-point loss against the Indiana Pacers on Friday night, LeBron James wasn’t interested in discussing the debatable call that went against him in the final seconds, only offering that it didn’t go his way.
However, James caught a glimpse of a different angle after leaving the locker room and tweeted that the referees ruled correctly, charging James with his fifth turnover.
Definitely stepped out by a tiny bit after seeing it over again! Great call. Needed to be in OKC on that drive. Lol. Live and you Learn
— LeBron James (@KingJames) January 13, 2018
The message was retweeted by teammate Dwyane Wade, who didn’t play on the second game of a back-to-back. A number of James’ teammates looked confused after seeing in-arena replays, which made it tough to clearly determine whether James actually stepped on the baseline. But one last angle, shown later on the TV broadcast, proved the officiating crew right.
The call was made as James attempted to drive against Indiana Pacers point guard Darren Collison with about two seconds remaining. After going to replay, the officials confirmed the turnover, forcing the Cavs to foul on the ensuing inbounds play.
After Collison split a pair of free throws, James had one last chance at a desperation 3-point heave, which he missed, capping a forgettable 1-4 road trip.
James’ quip about being OKC was in reference to Milwaukee Bucks star Giannis Antetokounmpo’s game-winning shot on Dec. 29. With the clock ticking down that night, Antetokounmpo tried driving past his defender as well, getting away with stepping out of bounds with 1.3 seconds left — a call that led to plenty of conversation around the league.
That play, however, wasn’t reviewable because the whistle wasn’t blown.